Work: Day 5

Speed kills, that’s the long and short of the West Stanly @ Phillip O’Berry Academy game that I filmed on Friday night.  Having already been to a Phillip O’Berry game this year, I’ll spare you the getting to the game details.  Actually I will say that I was originally going to film Crest @ Ashbrook (James Worthy’s high school), but there was a request to go back to Phillip O’Berry.  I will also tell you that Phillip O’Berry is a magnet school, which I didn’t know last time.  If I understand what I was told by a fellow filmer before the game, students must maintain a 3.0 GPA to attend the school and are put through courses somewhat like college where they choose a major.  It’s somewhere between a vo-tech and a college, and the athletes aren’t allowed to just USC by in class.

Phillip O’Berry was 4-0 heading in to this game and the only thing that I knew about West Stanly was that they spell Stanly without an “e” and that they were 3-1.

The Master.

Next week at Phillip O’Berry is homecoming week featuring dress like a celebrity day and TV Land day where you dress like someone from the 70’s or 80’s.  I’d probably dress like Sho Nuff for both days.

This game was filled with big plays, and as usual for the games that I’ve attended this season, some of them were called back due to penalties.  Since they excite you, though, they’re included in the footage at the bottom.  O’Berry went up 14-o early, and I don’t know if they don’t have a kicker (no big loss), but they attempted a 2-point conversion after every score.  Normally this  would come back and haunt a team, but ultimately O’Berry’s speed was too much for West Stanly.  West Stanly actually got a running game going behind the old T-Formation (their passing came was nonexistent), and had the game tied at 14 before O’Berry ran away with the game in the second half.  The highlights tell the story better, here you go:

P.S. Panthers running back, Mike Goodson was in attendance.  I was tempted to tell him to stop stealing carries from DeAngelo Williams, but I’m polite like that.

Leave a Reply

